That body, though

photo (2)
Body image 

I will not wait

For varicose veins to litter my legs

Leafless branches going nowhere

To thank those veins

For giving breath

To my muscles.


I will not wait

For my breasts to sag listlessly

To my naval, or lower,

To value them.


I will not wait

For wrinkles to etch themselves

At the far corners of my lips

To remember to smile.


I will remember

When I want to hate my legs for being big

That those strong legs, from birth,

Have carried me.


I will remember

When I count, then curse, my stretchmarks

That they are a personalized road map

Of growth


I will remember

When I ruminate on every flaw

That there are also countless

Assets.


I will not wait

To remember

That this wonderfully flawed body

Deserves so much more than hate.

 


 

It is way too easy to get caught up in the negative body-image game.

Stahp. Please.

As far as bodies go, we only get one (unless reincarnation is a thing, but that’s a separate issue entirely). So, let’s work on not hating the one thing we have forever.

Leave a Reply

